Do you? Would you? Have you?

Driven in France, that is. If you haven’t, would you?

For those of us from the UK, there is always the thorny question of driving on the ‘wrong’ side of the road. This was an opinion frequently expressed by my students. I, of course, always pointed out that this wasn’t ‘wrong’, just different. I also intimated that it might be us Brits who are the odd – ones – out, as the majority of the world (but not all) drive on the right!

Driving in France has its challenges and may not be for the faint hearted. French drivers drive fast but, in my experience, do follow the speed limits when driving through villages etc. They are terrible for tail-gating and will sit one centimetre from your bumper. This I find not only annoying but dangerous. They also ‘crow – hop’ and don’t get me started on their overtaking techniques… However I think that, in general, the lane discipline on French motorways is very good.

The only time I had an incident while driving in France was when I was looking at some pompiers  (firemen) who were unraveling their hoses. My lack of attention resulted in a dented bumper when I collided with a parked car…

Here’s a light hearted video in which a Frenchman tries to educate a Brit about the correct way to drive in France:

I’d love to hear about your experiences of driving in France!

Leave a Reply

