Chez le coiffeur!

When the whole world appears to be going mad, it can be the simple things that bring pleasure – like going to the hairdressers.

Call me shallow but I do love the pampering and sheer indulgence of relaxing and having my hair done by someone else! In the village where I live, we are lucky enough to have a brilliant hairdressers run by an amazing, young, husband and wife couple.

My nineteen year old son also goes there, although obviously not with me! From massage chairs, to endless cups of coffee, to glossy magazines, not to mention brilliant hair cutting and styling, I always leave the salon feeling like a new woman!

So, I decided to get my hair washed (un shampoing!)  and blow dried (un brushing!) during my recent month long stay in France. I’m afraid I wasn’t brave enough to have my hair cut – apart from my fringe – which if you know me – is very daring indeed!

But which hairdresser to choose? For a small town, Castelnaudary is highly populated with hair salons. Luckily, my friendly local estate agent, whose hair always looks fantastic, was able to recommend her hairdresser. The salon was tiny with two members of staff; the owner and her apprentice. The owner did the wash and blow dry   and here’s the result:  image

2 thoughts on “Chez le coiffeur!

  1. Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is one great head of hair. I’m glad that you wrote this post because one thing I have come to love is the fact that France has an incredible amount of hairdressers. And–it seems that they are all highly skilled in “brushing”. My hair is coarse and wiry and takes FOREVER to dry. I’ve left salons here in the USA (actually in the pathetic suburbs of Philly) with the top dry and the bottom layers damp because the stylist was too lazy OR her next appointment was waiting. Now. If you are familiar with the kind of hair that I have, you cannot leave it damp or it will frizz.
    That’s why I love Adam. He takes his time with my hair.
    But..I love going to the hairdressers in France. Like you though, I’m afraid to take scissors to hair. Hmmmmm. maybe next time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Catherine. I’ve been lucky enough to inherit thick hair! The reason I posted a photo of the back of my hair is because my hair is naturally wavy and only a hairdresser can make it look smooth like that. I’m ok at drying the front but the back…I often say that I need a clone of my hairdresser to keep in the wardrobe so that he can just do the back! I must confess I’ve never tried straighteners; maybe I should!! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

