Le Meilleur Pâtissier…. or The Great British Bake Off French style!

I never seem to watch much television when I’m in France; when I lived there I didn’t have a television. However, on my recent trip to Toulouse, I happened to catch a snippet of the French equivalent of the Great British Bake Off. I have to admit I’m a massive GBB fan and it has definitely become an international phenomenon and has been replicated in 20 different countries.

However, the French version is, in my opinion, priceless. The show is judged by top chef Cyril Lignac, (Paul Hollywood French equivalent, complete with beard) and 71-year-old Jacqueline Mercorelli, (Mary Berry look alike) a macaroon expert and food blogger known as Mercotte.IMG_0424

The host, Faustine did not strike me as any match for Mel and Sue, but who is?!

Have any of you seen Le Meilleur Pâtissier?

I’d love to know what you think about the French version! Here’s the trailer from the French version:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ab5CmqDkPXU&feature=youtu.be

Leave a Reply

