Madeleines – Miam! Miam!

I  bought this:

FullSizeRender (1)

Then I made these: my version of Madeleines.

     FullSizeRender

I love baking! When my boys were small, I used to bake for them and their stream of friends and school fairs…Then, when I had a stressful job, baking became my therapy.

Although I enjoy baking, I don’t think I’ll be appearing on the Great British Bakeoff any time soon! As long as my audience – friends and family – eat my cakes and biscuits that’s good enough for me.

I decided to do some research into the origin of madeleines and some sources say madeleines may have been named after a 19th-century pastry cook, Madeleine Paulmier, but other sources have it that Madeleine Paulmier was a cook in the 18th century for Stanisław Leszczyński, whose son-in-law, Louis XV of France, named them for her. I have no idea…! Marcel Proust, one of the authors I studied as a student, was the number one fan of madeleines, apparently. In his most famous work, In Search of Lost Time (“À la recherche du temps perdu”). Proust remembers dipping a madeleine into a cup of tea, as a child. Apologies for this massive over simplification!

The recipe I used was by Michel Roux Jr and here is the link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/madeleine_15211

There are many variations on the basic madeleine. You can add chocolate, cinnamon …but I’m interested to know if you are a madeleine fan?

4 thoughts on “Madeleines – Miam! Miam!

  1. Oui! Thanks to Bonaparte, I’ve made him quite happy with my madeleines. That perfect bump is a bit of happiness. It’s funny though–it took me a while before I found the recipe that worked for me. I use Dory Greenspan’s recipe. Its the one that works for me. LOL. I’ve even wrote about baking these too! Its so much fun to read about others who love to bake! XOXOXO

    Like

  2. I love madeleines. The ones with a little hint of lemon are really nice. In Limoges where I’m from, they have a madeleine factory (Madeleines Bijou), and they dip one side in dark chocolate, they are to die for

    Like

Leave a Reply

