Les femmes françaises – FRENCH STYLE

Parisian chicMy first visit to Paris, aged 16, influenced me in so many ways. I remember looking in the wardrobe of my exchange partner and being surprised by how few clothes there were inside. I think that, in general, French women do own fewer clothes but that the ones they do have are classic and classy! I agree with Frédéric (the founder of Talk in French https://www.talkinfrench.com/) when he says that it’s impossible to talk about French culture without discussing fashion.

I’ve always loved black clothes and I would say that most French women prefer neutral shades – black, grey, white, camel, khaki and navy blue. The image of a chic French woman suggests, to me, a crisp white shirt, a plain navy cashmere jumper, jeans or well-fitting trousers, a jacket and, of course, signature accessories– jewellery, scarves, shoes, bags and belts – including glasses and sunglasses. I love scarves https://fancyingfrance.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/scarves-french-women-do-it-better-because-they-wear-scarves/ and silver bracelets!

There are countless magazine articles, blogs and books about French style. In fact, this post came about when I spotted, in a local shop, a book by French icon Ines de la Fressange called ‘Parisian Chic’.

On the other hand, you may prefer the way women dress elsewhere. I’d love to know what you think and also do you have a favourite accessory?

2 thoughts on “Les femmes françaises – FRENCH STYLE

  1. I would have to agree with you. I love the classic french style. I think its so effortless and minimal but so elegant. I think in a way us woman are all looking to look chic with looking like we are trying too hard and I feel many french woman know how to achieve that balance so well. My favorite accessory would have to be earings. I always feel completely unfinished without it! Great Article!

    Like

Leave a Reply

