Sunflowers

Why do I love sunflowers so much? I guess to me they represent the South of France… They are also such a cheerful flower. I quite often treat myself to a bunch of sunflowers. They are guaranteed to brighten the gloomiest day.

Sunflowers were worshipped by the Aztecs and the Incas as a symbol of the sun god. Apparently Native American Indians placed bowls of sunflower seeds on the graves of their dead. Sunflowers turn towards or follow the sun and the French word for sunflower is ‘ tournesol’.

I also have happy memories of the giant sunflowers grown by my sons, at primary school. How competitive they were and how delighted when one of their flowers grew taller than them!

Sunflowers, I have read, are the ‘marmite’ of the flower world – either disliked or loved!   Sunflowers Sunflowerbouquet

I’d love to know your view on this particular flower.

Do you love or hate them? Do they remind you of the south of France…?

Leave a Reply

