La marinière, Breton top or striped T shirt!

What is it about this style of top that is so appealing? And not just to me. As well as reading blogs relating to France, I also enjoy the occasional fashion blog. I can’t guess how many times striped tops are featured. Perhaps it is because they suit all ages, shapes and types of people. I think they represent an iconic staple of French chic, as personified by Coco Chanel. It was Coco Chanel who introduced the Breton stripe into female fashion.

The original Breton top was created as part of the uniform for the French navy. It was designed to have twenty one stripes, each one representing a victory for Napoleon. Over time, Breton shirts were worn by many well-known icons including Picasso, Brigitte Bardot and Audrey Hepburn. And many more besides.

Since I started buying my own clothes, I have always been in possession of at least one Breton or striped top, usually more than one! They are so versatile and can be worn with jeans for a casual look or ‘dressed up’ for a more professional look. They can be worn by men, women and children. They can be different shapes, different lengths and different colours. Here are three examples I currently have in my wardrobe.

photo (1)

What about you? Are you a lover of the Breton or striped shirt?

Must dash off. I feel the need to do some internet shopping for another striped top…!

One thought on “La marinière, Breton top or striped T shirt!

  1. Pingback: Is my obsession getting out of hand? | Fancying France

Leave a Reply

