L’apéro…Part two and more!

photo

Noilly Prat is a relatively new discovery – for me! I came across this vermouth drink a couple of years ago when staying in Mèze, a fishing port on the Etang de thau. If you haven’t come across this attractive place, it’s well worth a visit, in my opinion, especially if you like oysters! http://www.tourisme-bassindethau.com/

Marseillan is another attractive port that sits on the lagoon and is home to Noilly Prat.
http://www.marseillan.com/english/marseillan-decouvrir.asp
Noilly Prat has been produced, since 1813, in Marseillan and has been called the connoisseurs’ aperitif because of its powerful taste and delicate fragrance. I wouldn’t say I’m a ‘connoisseur’ but I certainly enjoyed our trip to the Noilly Prat visitor centre.

The Noilly Prat cellars which overlook Marseillan harbour are open from March to November. The visitor centre attracts over 80,000 visitors a year. The tour explains the manufacturing process and finishes off with a taste of the three different varieties of Noilly Prat vermouth. They are the original dry, rouge and ambré. I preferred the ambré which is not available in the UK, unfortunately.

If you want to find out more here’s the link: http://www.noillyprat.com
Even my teenage son thought the visit was worthwhile!

I’d love to know if you’ve visited any of the places I have mentioned or your opinion of Noilly Prat.P1000416

This photo was taken, in Marseillan, after the Noilly Prat visit. It was a very, very hot day…

Leave a Reply

